Question: What Happens If You Clear WhatsApp Data?

What happens when you clear data?

What does ‘clear app data’ mean.

While the cache can be cleared with little risk to app settings, preferences and saved states, clearing the app data will delete/remove these entirely.

Clearing data resets an app to its default state: it makes your app act like when you first downloaded and installed it..

Will deleting cached data delete photos?

From Google search: By clearing cache, you remove the temporary files in the cache, but it WON’T delete your other app data like logins, settings, saved games, downloaded photos, conversations. So if you clear the cache of the Gallery or Camera app on your Android phone, you won’t lose any of your photos.

What does Clear Cache mean?

Clear cache from third-party apps App cache is similar to browser cache. It’s small bits of information stored to speed up your experience using an app. … Clearing cache is a quick and easy way to free up space and (hopefully) fix a misbehaving app. Clearing app cache will not delete app data like account information.

Can WhatsApp messages be deleted permanently?

How to delete WhatsApp messages on an Android phone. Open WhatsApp and click and hold the message you want to delete. Press Delete for Everyone to permanently delete the WhatsApp and remove it from the recipient’s chat.

What do others see when you uninstall WhatsApp?

If the person has uninstalled WhatsApp then their name will no longer appear in your contacts list. If he/she is still there, then it might be that you are blocked by that person. Only if he has deactivated his WhatsApp account then you will be able to know, as it will not be displayed on your WhatsApp contact list.

Why is WhatsApp data so big?

Mobile apps be it android or iOS automatically download some cache files and store them in memory as required, but many apps forget to delete those files once they aren’t required by the app. Hence they keep on accumulating in the phone storage and this residual data also fills up the memory.

Can WhatsApp database files be recovered if deleted?

In the file manager app, navigate to sdcard/WhatsApp/Databases . If your data isn’t stored on the SD card, you might see “internal storage” or “main storage” instead of sdcard. … Uninstall and reinstall WhatsApp. Tap RESTORE when prompted.

Does deleting WhatsApp delete data?

Most of us have become dependant on WhatsApp for keeping in touch. … However, if you just delete the WhatsApp app from your phone then it should not delete your messages for good. As long as you have backed up your chats, then if/when you reinstall the app, the messages should be there.

When you delete WhatsApp messages are they gone forever?

Well, unfortunately, it turns out that WhatsApp and Snapchat share another commonality: just as Snaps that were supposed to have “disappeared forever” turned out to stay right there on your phone, WhatsApp messages that are deleted are actually still on the device and can be easily accessed.

How can I permanently delete WhatsApp messages from both sides?

To delete messages for everyone:Open WhatsApp and go to the chat containing the message you want to delete.Tap and hold the message. Optionally, select more messages to delete multiple messages at once.Tap Delete > Delete for everyone.

How do I free up disk space on WhatsApp?

How to free up space using WhatsAppGo to “Data and storage usage” in Settings.Select the chat you want to clean out. Once in storage usage, after a minute or two, a list of your messages and the amount of space they’re taking up will be listed. … Delete the types of file you want to get rid of.

Is it safe to clear WhatsApp cache?

Unlike Android, on devices iOs it is not possible to empty the WhatsApp cache. If you enter Adjustments from the app then to Data and storage, you will see at the end the options of Data Use and Storage Use, but there is no option to Clear cache.

How do I clear my WhatsApp cache?

The app cache (and how to clear it)Open the Settings of your phone.Tap the Storage heading to open its settings page. … Tap the Other Apps heading to see a list of your installed apps.Find the application you want to clear the cache of and tap its listing. … Tap the Clear cache button.

Will clear data delete text messages?

If you clear app data via Android settings, app settings, ‘any app’ yes. No if you clear app cache via Android settings, storage, cache ( or with apps like Ccleaner). Clearing app cache will never delete appdata or settings.

How do I clear data usage?

Start by turning on your mobile data first (important), then go to settings > data usage > tap on the present date cycle > change cycle > select today’s date. This will reset your data from the present date.

What happens if I clear WhatsApp cache?

WhatsApp cache may consume valuable memory space and then your Android phone starts to run slowly. By deleting all past audio, video and other data from WhatsApp cache, you can provide sufficient memory for your Android phone which inturn makes it to run faster.

Can I delete WhatsApp data files?

You can delete your WhatsApp backups by following the instructions below. … Your chat history backup files are saved in the /sdcard/WhatsApp/Databases/ folder. You cannot open these folders outside of WhatsApp. You will need a file manager to delete these files.

How do I clean up WhatsApp?

– Select the data like images, videos and voice messages that you want to delete. – Tap on Delete Items option. – Tap on Clear Messages to confirm. The videos and messages will automatically be deleted from the gallery.

How can I reduce my WhatsApp data usage?

Disable auto-downloading over mobile dataHead back to Settings.Tap Data usage.Tap When using mobile data.Deselect any media you don’t want using data.Tap OK.

How can I restore my WhatsApp data?

How to restore deleted WhatsApp chatsUninstall WhatsApp from your Android smartphone or iPhone.Reinstall WhatsApp and set it up with your phone number.Once the app is set up, you will get a prompt asking you to restore messages from a cloud backup. … This will bring back the messages that you had accidentally deleted.